Sewing-Clothes

New Fabric

JoAnn’s has some beautiful stretch twill in a fun, bright floral pattern. A bit out of my comfort zone, but I’m trying to expand some. 

It was about $17/yard, though, so I just admired from afar…until recently, when I stumbled on it online and saw it for $7.99/yard. I kept it up on my phone, and stared at it, mulling over what I would even do with the fabric, and when is this sale going to end? (Seriously. The stuff is still on sale, y’all. I bought the last of it from one of my local JoAnn’s.) I looked at dresses, but then looked at the fabric again and decided the print was too big for a dress. I’m only 5’3, so I err on the side of caution with prints. Then, I looked at skirts. I found the perfect one, but won’t post that until I get it and make my skirt.

The twill is amazing. It looked just like it did on my screen. It is a little lighter than I had hoped, I thought it would be light/medium weight. It is lightweight, but surprisingly not sheer. I think I’ll still line it, though. The weight allows for a nice drape. Do note, there isn’t a lot of stretch. It’ll likely make a waistband a bit more comfortable, but I don’t know that I would have even known it was stretchy if it hadn’t been mentioned on the website.

I prefer cotton, but this is polyester with a smidgen of spandex. It has a nice feel, despite the fiber content.

The black mums and some of the pink peonies (I’m guessing that’s what they are) are about the size of my hand. Take that with a grain of salt. I’ve been informed I have freakishly small hands…

That’s a standard sized glue bottle, better size reference than my hand.

I plan to use a lovely blue piping with the skirt. I haven’t decided on a blouse, though. With so many color options in the fabric, that might take a while!

With a sales items included coupon, I got two yards of this for less than $14. Great deal. As much as I love this fabric, because it’s polyester and thin, I wouldn’t have been willing to pay full price.

Leave a Reply

